OUR HISTORY

How we came to be

The Singapore Economic Development Board (EDB) was formed in 1961 to address the challenges of attracting foreign investors even though it was undergoing much economic uncertainty at the time.

The 1960s: The development of labour-intensive industrialisation

As a solution to massive unemployment in the 1960s, EDB aided in the establishment of the labour-intensive Jurong Industrial Estate. From a swamp along the west coast of Singapore, Jurong was transformed into Singapore’s first industrial estate to initiate the country’s industrialisation programme with factories producing garments, textiles, toys, wood products and hair wigs.

To develop export-oriented industries, EDB opened its first overseas centres in Hong Kong and New York to attract foreign investors.

The 1970s: Global expansion of EDB

With the advancement of industrial development, EDB established Singapore as a quick operations start-up location. Factories were built in advance of demand with a highly skilled workforce readily available. In line with this expansion, more EDB offices were set up in Europe, USA and Asia.

Products manufactured became more sophisticated, which led to product diversification and new investments in electronics. Within six months, EDB secured a S$6 million deal with Texas Instruments to manufacture semiconductors and integrated circuits. This major investment marked the start of Singapore’s electronics industry.

Between 1971 and 1976, new EDB overseas centres opened in Zurich, Paris, Osaka and Houston.

During the world recession in 1975, EDB pushed for more industrial projects and manufacturing became the largest sector in the economy, surpassing trade.

The 1980s: The era of capital-intensive and high-technology industries

Moving into knowledge-intensive activities such as R&D and computer software services, EDB co-established institutions of technology with Japan, Germany and France that trained Singaporeans for specialised jobs in the high-technology fields of electronics and engineering. Additionally, EDB also administered the Skills Development Fund to encourage proper manpower training programmes.

In order to promote Singapore as a Total Business Centre, EDB attracted international service corporations in the financial, educational, lifestyle, medical, IT and software sectors. The manufacturing of personal computers, printed circuit boards, and disc drives were identified as important sunrise industries, and EDB worked to attract companies in these areas. As a result, Singapore’s – and South East Asia’s - first silicon wafer manufacture plant opened in the early 1980s.

The promotion of local enterprises also became increasingly important. As such, EDB set up the Small Enterprise Bureau in 1986 and shaped a range of assistance schemes to help small local enterprises grow.

In 1988, the EDB's Strategic Business Unit for Biotechnology was established for biotech promotion.

The 1990s: Emphasis on technology, manufacturing and investment

Even as companies intensify their use of technology to move up the value chain, manufacturing remained important in Singapore’s economic development. EDB strengthened its focus on key industries, namely chemicals, electronics and engineering. Consequently, Singapore also began to develop a biomedical science industry that included the pharmaceutical, biotechnology and medical technology sectors.

In an effort towards building up the local creative industry, EDB’s Creative Services Strategic Business Unit was set up in 1990, with a study of 18 task forces covering units in the creative industry that includes film, music, arts, design and media.
Recognising China’s importance in the near future, EDB also set up the “China Focus” Special Business Unit in 1990, which specialised in building investor relations with the Republic.

EDB Investments (EDBI) was established in 1991 as EDB’S independent equity investment arm, to grow and catalyse new strategic pillars and strengthen existing engines of Singapore’s economy.

The 2000s: A focus on innovation, knowledge, and R&D

Recognising the importance of innovative entrepreneurship, EDB launched the Start-up EnterprisE Development Scheme (SEEDS) in 2001 (renamed SPRING SEEDS in 2007). A co-financing scheme whereby the government matches up to a dollar for every dollar raised up to a maximum of S$300,000 per company, it has also played a critical role in triggering private sector engagement and investment. Additionally, EDB’s Business Angel Scheme (BAS) was initiated in 2005 to further stimulate entrepreneurship and techno-preneurship through business angels’ investment and funding.

In view of the wealth of investment opportunities in China, India and the Middle East, EDB set up numerous centres within the region. It set up its Shanghai office in 2002, followed by the Beijing office in 2004 and a third office in Guangzhou in 2006. To enhance economic relations with Indian companies, the Mumbai office was set up in 2004.

EDB also focused its efforts towards developing Singapore’s interactive and digital media (IDM) industry. In 2004, the agency successfully pitched to LucasFilm, a production company founded by George Lucas, the creator of the Star Wars franchise. Since then, LucasFilm Singapore has set up multiple divisions of animation and visual effects studios in Singapore.

Advancing the development of the energy industry of Singapore, the Energy Innovation Programme Office (EIPO) was set up in 2007 under the leadership of EDB and the Energy Market Authority (EMA). Since then, initiatives such as the establishment of public sector R&D centres and talent development programmes have been launched. In the same year, EDB also led the establishment of the Clean Energy Programme Office (CEPO), set up to implement strategies for developing Singapore’s clean energy industry.

In recent years, to expand its R&D activities, EDB has attracted MNCs such as Hewlett-Packard (HP), Johnson & Johnson, Procter & Gamble, and Hyflux to set up innovation and leadership development centres in Singapore.

In 2011, EDB celebrated its 50th anniversary.

CONTACT EDB

For further assistance, please contact us via our online enquiry form.

Contact Us

WHAT IS A DECKBUILDER?

The Deckbuilder helps you compile the content you want. Click “Add to deck” to collect useful content from the website and click on “View Deckbuilder” to edit and export your deck as a .ppt or .pdf file.

机构发展史

我们的由来

新加坡经济发展局 (EDB) 成立于 1961 年,在当时经济动荡的形势下,着意吸引外商投资来发展本国经济。

20 世纪 60 年代: 劳动力密集型产业的发展

为应对 20 世纪 60 年代的严竣失业问题,EDB 帮助建立了劳动力密集型的裕廊工业区。 裕廊原本是新加坡西海岸的一片沼泽地,后来转变成新加坡的首个工业区,云集众多生产服装、纺织品、玩具、木制品和假发的工厂,成为启动国家工业化项目的强力先锋。

为发展出口导向型产业,EDB 在中国香港和纽约首次开设海外中心,以更好地吸引外国投资。

20 世纪 70 年代: EDB 全球扩张

伴随工业发展的进步,EDB 将新加坡打造成一处可供企业迅速建立业务的营商天堂。 我们在出现需求前已预先建设工厂,且随时有技术熟练的劳工队伍可用。 在扩张的过程中,我们在欧洲、美国和亚洲设立了更多的 EDB 办事处。

我们生产出日益先进的产品,不仅推动了产品多元化进程,更吸引了在电子行业的新投资。 在短短六个月内,EDB 成功吸引德州仪器公司投资 600 万新元用于生产半导体及集成电路。 这项重大投资揭开了新加坡电子工业的序幕。

在 1971 至 1976 年期间,我们相继在苏黎世、巴黎、大阪和休斯顿开设了新的 EDB 海外中心。

在 1975 年全球经济衰退期间,EDB 争取到更多的工业项目,制造业也超越贸易,一跃成为新加坡经济中的最大组成部分。

20 世纪 80 年代: 资本密集和高科技产业的时代

在向知识密集型活动(如研发和电脑软件服务)转型的过程中,EDB 与日本、德国及法国合作建立技术机构,针对电子和工程高科技领域的专业岗位为新加坡人提供培训服务。 此外,EDB 还负责管理技能发展基金,用以推动合适的人力培训计划。

为推动新加坡成为全球商业中心,EDB 广泛吸引金融、教育、休闲与时尚、医药、信息技术与软件等各行业的国际服务企业。 其中,个人电脑、印刷电路板和光盘驱动器制造被视为重要的新兴产业,EDB 重点吸引这些领域的公司。 因而在八十年代初期,新加坡乃至东南亚的首家硅片制造工厂正式成立。

与此同时,推动当地企业发展的重要性同样日益突出。 因此,EDB 在 1986 年成立小型企业发展署,并制定了一系列协助计划来帮助本地小型企业成长。

1988 年,EDB 生物技术战略业务单位成立,用以推动生物技术发展。

20 世纪 90 年代: 关注科技、制造和投资

尽管各大公司都在积极运用先进科技提升自身在价值链中的地位,生产制造仍然是新加坡经济发展中的一个重要部分。 EDB 加强了对化工、电子和工程设计等重点行业的关注。 相应地,新加坡开始发展制药、生物技术和医疗技术等生物医学产业。

为推动本地创新产业的发展,EDB 于 1990 年设立了创新服务战略业务单位,研究内容包括 18 个工作组,涵盖创新产业的各个组成部分,包括电影、音乐、艺术、设计和媒体。
鉴于中国在不远将来的重要性,EDB 还于 1990 年设立“聚焦中国”特别业务单位,专门关注与中国建立良好的投资关系。

作为 EDB 的独立股本投资组织,EDB 投资部门 (EDBI) 成立于 1991 年,负责为新加坡经济发展和催生新的战略支柱,并加强现有的发展引擎。

21 世纪: 关注创新、知识和研发

出于对创新企业家精神的重视,EDB 于 2001 年启动了一项起步公司发展计划 (SEEDS)(后于 2007 年更名为 SPRING SEEDS)。 这是一项共同融资计划,政府(与投资者)按照 1:1 的比例出资,为每家公司筹集最高 30 万新元资金,它对于吸引私人机构参与和投资起到了关键的推动作用。 此外,EDB 还于 2005 年发起商业天使计划 (BAS),以通过商业天使的投资和基金进一步刺激投资创业和科技创业。

针对中国、印度和中东的大量投资机遇,EDB 在这些地区设立了众多海外中心。 EDB 于 2002 年设立上海办事处,2004 年设立北京办事处,2006 年设立广州办事处。 为加强与印度公司的经济关系,EDB 于 2004 年设立了孟买办事处。

EDB 还积极关注并推动新加坡互动数码媒体 (IDM) 产业的发展。 2004 年,EDB 成功吸引到《星球大战》(Star Wars) 的制作方:LucasFilm(由 George Lucas 创建的制作公司)。 自此,LucasFilm(新加坡)在新加坡设立了众多动画和视觉效果工作室分部。

为推动新加坡能源产业的发展,于 2007,EDB领导 建立了清洁能源计划办事处 (CEPO),负责实施用以发展新加坡清洁能源产业的战略。在 2011年,CEPO 改为能源创新计划办事处 (EIPO),隶属 EDB 和能源市场管理局 (EMA) 管辖。 此后,众多相关计划(例如公共部门研发中心和人才发展计划的创立)相继推出。 同年,EDB 还领导建立了清洁能源计划办事处 (CEPO),负责实施用以发展新加坡清洁能源产业的战略。

近年来,为丰富和完善其研发活动,EDB 吸引到众多跨国公司(如惠普 (HP)、强生、宝洁和凯发)在新加坡设立了创新和领导开发中心。

2011 年,EDB 庆祝成立 50 周年。

联系新加坡经济发展局

要获取更多帮助,请填写在线咨询表格联系我们。

联系我们