AEROSPACE ENGINEERING SINGAPORE

Aerospace Engineering Singapore

INDUSTRY BACKGROUND

SCALING NEW HEIGHTS

The global aerospace and aviation industries are seeing exciting times ahead. Despite global uncertainties, appetite for air travel in Asia Pacific countries continues to grow, creating countless opportunities in the region for aerospace manufacturers, MRO companies and general aviation and aerospace players alike. The global fleet size is anticipated to double over the next two decades. Aircraft manufacturers Airbus and Boeing have projected that over a third of worldwide aircraft deliveries will go to Asia in the next two decades. By 2031, Asia Pacific’s fleet is expected to triple to about 13,500 aircrafts.

NO. 1 IN ASIA FOR MRO

Singapore is particularly well-equipped to capture the demand for aviation-related services from this market. Backed by a large pool of over 100 aerospace companies, Singapore has garnered a quarter of the Asian MRO market. Singapore has become the leading aviation hub in Asia-Pacific today, contributing over a quarter share of the region’s Maintenance, Repair and Overhaul (MRO) output. Leading players such as ST Aerospace and Goodrich carry out comprehensive nose-to-tail MRO services from airframe maintenance to engine overhaul to aircraft modifications and conversion.

A COMPETITIVE, EFFICIENT AND COMPREHENSIVE CLUSTER OF CAPABILITIES

Aside from MRO, Singapore is also seeing a growing number of aerospace design and manufacturing operations. Increasingly companies leverage off Singapore’s existing capabilities in precision engineering and electronics, to support the production of complex aero-engine components. For example in February 2012, Rolls Royce launched its Seletar Campus, that not only carries out activities such as engine assembly and test, training, R&D, it is also the company’s titanium wide-chord fan blade manufacturing. Similarly in January 2013 Pratt & Whitney broke ground for its first Geared Turbo Fan hybrid fan blade and turbine disk manufacturing facility outside of its US headquarters.

HOST FOR LEADING INTERNATIONAL AIRSHOW

The inaugural Singapore Airshow in February 2008 also sealed Singapore’s position as host to one of the world’s top three international airshows, with over US$13 billion in sales of aircraft and equipment announced during show days. The show has since doubled its value; in 2012, Singapore Airshow saw more than US$31 billion worth of deals inked. The show attracted over 45,000 trade visitors from 128 countries to attend.

Engine gears, valves, and galley equipment are some of the products manufactured in Singapore. And on the R&D front, Boeing, EADS, Pratt and Whitney and Rolls-Royce have made commitments to partner Singapore’s A*STAR and its research institutes to jointly carry out aerospace-related research.

A WORKFORCE GEARED UP TO MEET EXACTING DEMANDS

The aerospace industry in Singapore has stringent safety and quality standards. A pool of skilled, well-trained and experienced personnel is therefore a critical part of the value chain. The aerospace industry today employs close to 19,900 workers, of which 90% are skilled.

WORLD-CLASS INTEGRATED AEROSPACE PARK

Singapore enjoys excellent connectivity and an efficient supply chain. It is further strengthening its infrastructure to ride future growth trends. The Seletar Aerospace Park is a centerpiece of this effort. Spanning 300ha, the dedicated aerospace park allows companies to reap the benefits of a world-class business infrastructure, complete with runway access, and the synergies from cluster integration. Since its launch, the SAP has seen much success. In 2012, eight MNCs, including Rolls-Royce, Bell Helicopter, Cessna Aircraft, Fokker Services Asia, Hawker Pacific and many others have opened new facilities in the SAP. Today, more than 80% of the 83ha of land made ready in Phase 1 and 2 has been taken up, while infrastructure works for Phase 3 is slated for completion by 2014.

FACTS AND FIGURES

  • Singapore’s aerospace industry has grown at an average rate of 10 per cent in the last two decades.
  • Singapore is today the most comprehensive aerospace Maintenance Repair and Overhaul (MRO) hub in Asia, accounting for a quarter share of the region's MRO output.
  • In 2012, the aerospace industry achieved a record output of S$8.7 billion.
  • The number of people employed in the aerospace industry Singapore stood at over 19,900 in 2012. 90% of the jobs in the industry are skilled jobs.

FEATURED PRODUCTS

Aerospace Engineering

Rolls-Royce
Trent 900 and 1000 jet engines

The new Rolls-Royce campus at Seletar Aerospace Park recently unveiled the first Trent aero engine in an enormous facility aimed at growing capacity and extending the British manufacturer’s reach into the fast-growing Asian aviation market. Here Rolls-Royce makes the Trent 900 and 1000 jet engines used on Airbus A380s and Boeing 787s, with a plan to assemble and test 250 engines by 2016; it’s also building fan blades.

In deciding to open up shop in Singapore, Rolls-Royce cites the importance of being able to recruit talented staff that can build engines of the highest quality – over 80 per cent of employees at Rolls-Royce’s local site are Singaporean. “The Singapore government’s approach to supporting investment like this is, we think, very far-sighted,” says Jonathan Asherson, regional director, Southeast Asia for Rolls-Royce. “Singapore certainly understands the value of ensuring that there’s a pipeline of skilled labour and they understand the multiplier effect of high value-added manufacturing. That’s the kind of thing that attracts us.”

Above content developed in association with Monocle.

CONTACT EDB

Mr Tan Kong Hwee

Mr Tan Kong Hwee

Deputy Director
Transport Engineering

Contact Us Download Factsheet

OPINION LEADERS

Ready for takeoff

Ready for takeoff Read More

RELATED CASE STUDIES

Rolls-Royce

Rolls-Royce Read More

VIDEOS

Aerospace Engineering

Aerospace Engineering View Video

WHAT IS A DECKBUILDER?

The Deckbuilder helps you compile the content you want. Click “Add to deck” to collect useful content from the website and click on “View Deckbuilder” to edit and export your deck as a .ppt or .pdf file.

Ready to make the move?

Our free service is comprehensive, confidential and funded. Find out how we can help your business set up in Singapore.

Contact us now

航空工程产业

航空工程产业

产业背景

更上一层楼

全球航空业的前景令人鼓舞。尽管全球的航空业存在不确定性,但亚太地区国家的航空需求却持续增长,为航空制造商、飞机维护、修理与翻修(MRO)公司以及航空业者创造了无数商机。全球机队规模预计将在未来的二十年增加一倍。飞机制造商如空中客车公司(Airbus)和波音公司(Boeing)预计,在未来的二十年里,亚洲的飞机交付量将超过全球飞机交付量的三分之一。到2031年,亚太地区的机队预计将增至三倍,达至13500架。

亚洲最全面的飞机维修(MRO)中心

新加坡具有完善的条件,可以满足到亚太航空市场相关服务的需求。在超过100家航空公司在新加坡设立服务站,新加坡已经获得了四分之一的亚洲维护、修理及翻修(MRO) 市场。新科宇航和古德里奇(ST Aerospace and Goodrich)等主要业者在新加坡进行全机MRO服务,涵盖机身维修、引擎翻修及飞机的改型和改装等。

具竞争力、高效、完善的技术群组

除了MRO,航空公司也开始在新加坡进行设计和制造工程。越来越多公司借助新加坡现有在精密工程和电子产业领域的技术来生产复杂的飞机引擎组件。例如,劳斯莱斯(Rolls Royce)在2012年2月在实里达建立了产业园区(Seletar Campus),该产业园不仅负责如引擎组装和测试、培训、研发方面的活动,也是该公司的钛合金宽弦扇叶片制造基地。除此之外,普惠(Pratt &Whitney)也在2013年1月破土动工,兴建在其美国之外首个齿轮传动涡轮扇混合扇叶片和涡轮盘的制造工厂。

国际航空盛事之都

2008年2月举行的首届新加坡航空展,使新加坡成功跻身为世界三大国际航空展之一,航展期间的飞机和设备销售额超过130亿美元。自此,该展会的价值翻一番。2012年,新加坡航空展签约交易价值超过310亿美元。展会吸引了来自128个国家的45,000多名来客参加。

在新加坡生产的航空产品繁多,其中包括引擎齿轮、阀门和机内厨房设备。而在研发方面,波音公司(Boeing),欧洲宇航防务集团(EADS),普惠(Pratt and Whitney)和劳斯莱斯(Rolls-Royce)已经承诺与新加坡科技研究局(A*STAR)及其研究院达成伙伴关系,联合开展航空相关研究。

具备克服挑战的能力的航空业人才

航空行业有严格的安全和质量标准。因此,技术精湛、训练有素、经验丰富的人才库是航空业价值链的重要部分。当前,新加坡有航空业员工近19900名,其中的90%是高级技术员工。

世界级综合航空园区

除了具有优越的连接性和高效供应链等优势,新加坡也致力于不断强化其航空基础设施以支持航空业的未来发展。其核心项目是占地约300公顷的实里达航空园(Seletar Aerospace Park)。在这个园区内的企业受惠于连接跑道的一流的商业基础设施以及产业群组整合的协同效应。该航空园开幕以来已经获得了良好成绩。在2012年,包括劳斯莱斯(Rolls-Royce),贝尔直升机(Bell Helicopter),赛斯纳飞机(Cessna Aircraft),福克服务亚洲(Fokker Services Asia),霍克太平洋公司(Hawker Pacific)在内的八家跨国公司在SAP开设了新工厂。

产业信息及数据

  • 在过去二十年里,新加坡的航空业平均增长率为10%。
  • 新加坡是当今亚洲最全面的航空维护、修理和翻修(MRO)服务枢纽,占地区MRO服务输出份额的四分之一。
  • 2012年,航空业取得了破纪录的87亿美元的服务输出业绩。
  • 在同年,航空业的就业人数超过19,900人,其中90%的岗位都属于高技术性。

特色产品

航空工程产业

劳斯莱斯(Rolls-Royce)
遄达900和1000引擎

英国制造商劳斯莱斯最近在位于实里达航空园(Seletar Aerospace Park)内的劳斯莱斯产业园(Rolls-Royce campus)推出首台遄达引擎。实里达航空园让该公司能够提高产能,应付来自亚洲航空市场不断迅速增长的需求。

劳斯莱斯在该园制造用于空中客车(Airbus)A380和波音(Boeing)787系列的遄达900和1000引擎,公司也计划于2016年前组装及测试250台引擎,并在该厂生产扇叶片。

劳斯莱斯视能否招募到可以制造最高质量引擎的优秀员工为是否在新加坡开办工厂的最重要决定因素。该厂内超过80%的员工是新加坡人。“新加坡政府支援投资的做法,我们认为这很有远见。新加坡明白培养高技术的劳动团队的价值,并且理解高附加值制造业的乘数效应。这正是吸引我们的原因”劳斯莱斯东南亚区域总监 Jonathan Asherson说。

EDB 与 Monocle 共同为您展示了令新加坡卓尔不群的人、地点和产品(内容首次发布于 Monocle)。

联系新加坡经济发展局

陈光辉先生

陈光辉先生

司长
运输工程

联系我们 简介下载

相关案例

劳斯莱斯

劳斯莱斯 更多详情

视频

航空工程业

航空工程业 观看视频