CHEMICALS INDUSTRY IN SINGAPORE

Chemicals industry in Singapore

IN BRIEF

Mega growth trends like rapid urbanisation, changing demographics and the rise of the Asian middle-class are shifting the need for products and services to Asia. With greater demand for transportation fuel, as well as petrochemical and specialty chemical products, the Asia growth story creates a window of opportunity. 

As one of the world’s leading energy and chemical industry hubs, Singapore’s contribution to the industry is vast, both in terms of output and research, and the Republic is constantly working to stay at the forefront of the industry’s advancement. In 2010, the chemicals and chemical products sector contributed S$38 billion of the manufacturing output, a significant rise from S$28 billion in 2009. 

OUR EDGE

KEY LOCATION: JURONG ISLAND

Singapore’s position as a global chemicals hub has grown in tandem with the extensive development of Jurong Island — an integrated complex housing many of the world’s leading energy and chemical companies, among them BASF, ExxonMobil, Lanxess, Mitsui Chemicals, Shell and Sumitomo Chemicals. Presently, Jurong Island has successfully attracted investments in excess of S$35 billion.  

Chemicals
TRUSTED BASE FOR HIGH-TECH MANUFACTURING AND R&D

Proprietary manufacturing processes are key to the competitiveness of energy and chemical companies along the entire value chain. Given the nation’s strong track record for intellectual property rights protection, Singapore is ideal for companies seeking to develop and commercialise proprietary technologies and first-class manufacturing processes.  Jurong Island is also a secured manufacturing location that places a priority on safety and security. Additionally, Singapore has invested heavily, and will continue to do so, in R&D infrastructure and seeks to work with the industry to create new beginnings in the country

RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT

Located on Jurong Island, the Institute of Chemical and Engineering Sciences (ICES) is an autonomous national research institute under A*STAR (Agency for Science, Technology and Research). It was created to undertake a diverse range of activities from exploratory research to process development, optimisation and problem solving as well as the running of pilot-scale projects. With a focus on providing highly trained R&D manpower, establishing a strong science base and developing technology and infrastructure, ICES is well-positioned to support energy and chemical companies as they develop new products and processes from Singapore. Together with public research institutes such as ICES, Singapore is host to a number of private sector research centres by Chemical companies like 3M, Bayer and BASF.

SPECIALTY CHEMICALS

Leveraging on the country’s strengths as a leading market player in other areas such as marine and offshore engineering, water treatment and lubricants, Singapore is well-positioned to further expand the chemical industry by focusing on high value-added specialty chemicals that serve these sectors.  Additionally, specialty chemicals companies can leverage the close proximity from Singapore to their customers and the end-consumer, and respond with agility to the emerging needs of Asian consumers by innovating new applications.

Chemicals
ACCESS TO SKILLED TALENT

Talent is a key enabler for this complex and dynamic industry, for which Singapore’s distinguished academic establishments graduate a well-trained pool of engineering and management talent as well as skilled technicians annually. To further prepare the engineering graduates entering the industry every year, the government invested in a live kerosene splitter on Jurong Island. This facility within the Chemical Process Technology Centre (CPTC) provides graduates the invaluable opportunity to simulate start-up, shut-down, and safety procedures.

In addition to a well-trained, home grown workforce, Singapore’s attractive central  location and liveability allows companies to attract experienced talent from all over the world. The strong local talent base, complemented by diverse international talent both contribute a world-class workforce,  which companies can hire from to quickly ramp up their operations and drive growth in Asia.

MOVING AHEAD

Chemicals

As Singapore positions itself for the next phase of growth in its energy and chemical industry, the Republic aims to be a model of sustainable development. To address climate change concerns and global resource constraints, Singapore is taking the lead in terms of raising the bar in energy efficiency, emissions management as well as accelerating the development of new, sustainable feedstock and technologies in partnership with industry through the Jurong Island version 2.0 initiative.  A number of high impact projects, to ensure Jurong Island’s continued attractiveness as an integrated manufacturing location will be implemented over the next few years. These include key infrastructure such as a gasification plant, a LPG terminal and a multi-user product grid. Recognising the importance to companies of plant-level sustainability efforts, which reduce a plant’s carbon footprint, the city also actively supports companies to encourage adoption of energy efficiency improvement projects.

The city continues to receive glowing reviews year after year for its infrastructure, manpower capabilities, as well as ease of doing business. For companies seeking a location from which to connect to their customers and manage their operating entities in Asia, Singapore’s strategic location and physical connectivity means that companies can oversee their activities in this fast-growing region.

Visit the following link to understand about water management Singapore

CONTACT EDB

Mr Eugene LEONG

Mr Eugene LEONG

Director
Energy and Chemicals

Contact Us Download Factsheet

RELATED CASE STUDIES

Clariant

Clariant Read More

Mitsui Chemicals

Mitsui Chemicals Read More

VIDEOS

Jurong Island

Jurong Island View Video

Chemicals

Chemicals View Video

WHAT IS A DECKBUILDER?

The Deckbuilder helps you compile the content you want. Click “Add to deck” to collect useful content from the website and click on “View Deckbuilder” to edit and export your deck as a .ppt or .pdf file.

化工产业

新加坡化学品工业

化工产业在新加坡的发展前景

亚洲在各方面都正在经历巨大的发展,如迅速的城市化、人口结构变化和中产阶级的兴起,这些都在改变着亚洲市场上的产品和服务需求。 随着运输燃料,石化和特种化学产品需求的扩大,亚洲此时快速的发展也为业者带来许多的机会。 

作为世界上最先进的能源与化工枢纽之一,新加坡在产量和研究两方面对该行业都有一定的贡献,并且一直力争上游,尽力保持在行业进步发展的最前端。 2010 年,化工产品产业贡献了 380 亿新元的制造业产量。相较于 2009 年的 280 亿新元,这是一个显著的增长。 

新加坡的化工产业优势

关键地点: 裕廊岛

新加坡作为全球化工业枢纽的地位是与裕廊岛的大规模开发休戚相关的。裕廊岛是一个囊括了众多世界领先能源和化工公司的综合性基地。巴斯夫 (BASF)、埃克森美孚 (ExxonMobil)、朗盛 (Lanxess)、三井化学 (Mitsui Chemicals)、壳牌 (Shell) 和住友化学 (Sumitomo Chemicals) 等都落户于此。 到目前为止,裕廊岛已经成功吸引了 350 多亿新元的投资。  

新加坡裕廊岛化工
高科技制造和研发的可靠基地

在整个价值链中,专有制造工艺是能源公司和化工公司竞争力的关键所在。 新加坡拥有成熟完善的知识产权保护体系。对于想要开发专有技术和制造工艺再将其开发成果商业化的公司,新加坡是理想的选择。  裕廊岛也是一个安全有保障的化学品制造基地,非常注重安全和安保。 另外,新加坡已经在研发基础设施上进行了巨额投资,并将持续对其的投入,而且努力与业界合作,以便开创新的产业领域。

研发

化学与工程科学研究院 (ICES) 就位于裕廊岛,它直属科技研究局 (A*STAR),是一所自主国家研究机构。 该研究院的建立是为了进行一系列的研发活动,从探索性研究到工艺开发、优化和问题克攻,以及试点规模项目的运作。 ICES 的中心任务是提供高度训练的研发人员,建立一个强大的科学基地,以及开发技术与基础设施。ICES 已经完全准备好,为能源与化工公司在新加坡开发新产品和新工艺提供相应的支持。 新加坡不仅有 ICES 这样的公共研究机构,还有许多化工公司(如 3M、拜耳和巴斯夫等)成立的私立研究中心。

精细化学

新加坡在其他领域也处于世界领先的水平,如海运和离岸工程,水务处理和润滑剂等产业。鉴于此优势,新加坡就着重开发高增值的精细化学品工业,来服务其他相关的产业群,进一步拓展化工业。  此外,精细化工公司可以利用新加坡与其客户和最终消费者近距离的优势,针对其消费者开发新的精细化学品,迅速地应对亚洲市场里不断涌现的各种新需求。

新加坡化学品工业人才
拥有技能熟练的人才储备

在这高度复杂又充满活力的行业中,人才是核心推动力。而新加坡卓越的学术机构每年都培养并向该行业输送一大批优秀的工程和管理人才,还有技艺精湛的技术人员。 每年,为了进一步让工程系毕业生踏入行业做好充分准备,政府在裕廊岛投资兴建了高效的煤油分离器。 该设备建在化学加工科技中心 (CPTC),为毕业生们提供了一个模拟启动、关闭和安全程序的试点。

除了拥有一大批受过良好培训的本土人力资源,新加坡优越的地理位置和宜居性能,使这里的企业能够吸引来自世界各地,经验丰富的人才。 强大的本地人力资源,加上多元化的国际人才,共同创造了世界一流的人才枢纽。各大公司可以招贤纳士,扩展业务,推动其在亚洲的发展。

化工产业在新加坡的发展潜力

新加坡已经为能源与化工业下一个阶段的发展做好准备,志成为可持续发展的楷模。 为了应对气候变化和全球能源紧张的问题,新加坡带头提高了能源效率和排放管理方面的标准。并且通过裕廊岛 2.0 版本创新计划,与行业紧密合作,加速发展新型可持续原料与技术。  在接下来的几年里,将会看到具有影响力的项目陆续的启动,以保持裕廊岛综作为合性制造业中心的吸引力。 这包括关键基础设施的建设,如修建煤气化厂、液化天然气站和多用户产品电网。 认识到工厂级可持续性的重要性(即减少工厂的碳排放量),新加坡以积极支持的态度,希望鼓励各大公司采用提高能源效率的项目。

多年以来,新加坡也会经常收到各方的积极评价,称赞其完善的基础设施、丰富的人力资源和良好的经商环境。 若公司希望找到一个理想的地点,既能与消费者亲密接触,又能管理其在亚洲的经营实体,新加坡无疑是首选。其优越战略性的地理位置和四通八达的连接性能让公司轻松管理其在这个高速增长地区的运营活动。

新加坡化工设备

联系新加坡经济发展局

许凯琳女士

许凯琳女士

司长
能源与化工

联系我们

相关案例

三井化学公司

三井化学公司 更多详情

新加坡科莱恩集团

新加坡科莱恩集团 更多详情

视频

裕廊岛

裕廊岛 观看视频

化工业

化工业 观看视频