Consumer Electronics Industry Singapore



Pick any electronics device today – a smartphone, tablet, video game console, or a car navigation system. There's a good chance that part of it was designed or made in Singapore. Electronics is the bedrock of the Singapore manufacturing sector, contributing 5.3% to the country’s Gross Domestic Product (“GDP”) in 2013. From its modest beginning as the only TV assembly plant in Southeast Asia in the 1960s, Singapore's electronics industry has today grown to become a vital node in the global electronics market.

Today, the role of the electronics industry is rapidly changing. Devices, machines, and systems are becoming increasingly connected and “smart”. Enabling their ability to sense, store, and share information to make decisions will be the lynchpin for developing new solutions for consumers, industries, and societies. Our vision is for Singapore to be a Home in Asia for global leaders that enable an increasingly mobile, connected, and sensory world.


With the continuous shift of the industry's centre of gravity to Asia, Singapore's strong fundamentals in the electronics industry make it a choice location for companies to create and manage new markets, products and processes, technologies, and applications for the region and beyond.


Singapore’s electronics industry is a world-class, innovation-driven hub that provides technology, manufacturing, and business solutions to enable the development of new growth areas. Today, Singapore accounts for one in 10 wafer starts in the world, and 40% of the global hard disc media are manufactured here.


Electronics is the major industry underpinning Singapore's economic growth, and it contributed 29% of the total manufacturing value-add in 2013. Of the S$11.8 billion in fixed asset investments EDB secured in 2014, electronics accounted for 14% of the total investments. Employment for the industry stands at over 79,000, which represents 18% of all manufacturing jobs. In addition, manufacturing of finished electronics products creates many spin-offs to other segments of the economy, such as precision component manufacturers, chemicals and materials suppliers, electronic manufacturing systems companies, and logistics service providers.


Singapore is the choice location for electronics companies to create and manage new markets. Today Singapore is home to:

  • Nine of the world's top fifteen fabless semiconductor companies, and close to thirty IC design centres
  • Fourteen silicon integrated circuit (“IC”) wafer fabrication plants, including the world's top three wafer foundries
  • Fifteen semiconductor assembly and test operations, including five of the world’s top outsourced assembly and test services companies
  • Six of the world’s top integrated device manufacturers
  • All of the world's top three hard disc media manufacturers
  • Four of the world’s top five Electronics Manufacturing Services (EMS) providers

Singapore has a full suite of activities to meet business requirements; from R&D to manufacturing, supply chain management, logistics, and regional and global headquarters (“HQ”) functions. More information about infocomm products manufacturing can also be found here.


Singapore offers a business environment with respect for intellectual property, integrity, productivity, and reliability. The human capital that Singapore provides is a ready pool of global talent, achieved through actively encouraging globally qualified personnel to work here. We welcome talents from all over the world to live, work, study, and visit Singapore. Today, Singapore has built up a base of high quality engineering talent to cater to investors' needs. Our electronics sector is also constantly upgrading its workforce and anticipating future demand. In 2013, the electronics sector accounted for 31% of Singapore's total private sector R&D expenditure. This investment will further complement and strengthen the manufacturing and HQ activities here.


Recognising that talent is an important driver of economic growth, we have put in place a comprehensive set of capability development schemes to address the electronics industry's talent needs. In 2010, EDB and the Nanyang Technological University ("NTU") officially opened VIRTUS, a new IC Design Centre of Excellence. VIRTUS trains postgraduate students in analogue and mixed signal IC design, and develops key technologies in new growth areas such as low power management and energy harvesting. In addition, EDB has been actively co-funding scholarships for undergraduate and postgraduate electronics studies in specialisations such as wafer fabrication and IC design.


R&D is another differentiating competency for high tech industries. Singapore has invested heavily in this respect. The government raised the R&D budget for 2011-2015 by 20% from the previous 5-year period, with the aim of making Singapore one of the most research-intensive countries in the world. Electronics is one of the major contributors to this goal.

Singapore’s well-developed electronics R&D capabilities range from component-level design and process R&D to system level product design, firmware development, and industrial design. Publicly funded centres like the Institute of Microelectronics (“IME”) and university research centres like VIRTUS IC Design Centre of Excellence and the Photonics Institute at NTU are pushing the boundaries of technology through their cutting edge research.

This strong R&D culture has encouraged companies to establish research centres in Singapore to develop next generation components and products.

Many opportunities are present in this increasingly mobile, connected, and sensory world. Solutions need to be developed and tested rapidly to harness these opportunities in different end-markets. In Singapore, platforms are being built within the public and private sectors to enable players across different industries to gather and co-develop solutions for a networked society.


  • In 2013, manufacturing output in the electronics sector reached S$79.1 billion, contributing to 28% of Singapore’s manufacturing output. The electronics industry has a workforce over 79,000.
  • Of the S$11.8 billion in fixed asset investments (“FAI”) that EDB secured in 2014, electronics was one of the largest contributors, accounting for 14% of the total investments. When fully implemented, the S$1.6 billion in electronics FAI is expected to contribute S$0.7 billion in value added per annum to Singapore’s GDP.
  • There are fourteen silicon IC wafer fabrication plants, fifteen assembly and test operations, and about thirty IC design centres in Singapore. This includes four 12-inch fabrication plants, the world’s top three wafer foundry companies, five of the world’s top assembly and test subcontractor companies, and nine of the world’s top fifteen fabless IC design companies. Some of these include Avago, Fairchild, Micron, MediaTek, United Microelectronics Corporation (“UMC”), United Test and Assembly Center (“UTAC”), Qualcomm, and Systems on Silicon Manufacturing Co (“SSMC”). Today, Singapore accounts for one in ten of the world’s ICs.
  • Singapore is a leading manufacturer of enterprise hard disc drives with Seagate and Hitachi Global Storage Technologies having significant presence in Singapore. Singapore is also a major hard disc media manufacturing location, accounting for over 40% of the world’s hard disc media volume. Top storage players like Seagate, Showa Denko, and Hoya are expanding their operations here.
  • Six of the world’s top 10 EMS companies have significant presence in Singapore. Their operations range from design, high-value manufacturing, supply chain management and regional management. Key players include Flextronics, Sanmina, Celestica, Jabil Circuit, and Venture. Prominent ODM players such as Asustek, Lite-On, and Wistron also have HQ and R&D activities in Singapore.

Visit the following link to understand how to set up a business in Singapore.


Mr PEE Beng Kong

Mr PEE Beng Kong


Contact Us Download Factsheet


Infineon Technologies

Infineon Technologies Read More


The Deckbuilder helps you compile the content you want. Click “Add to deck” to collect useful content from the website and click on “View Deckbuilder” to edit and export your deck as a .ppt or .pdf file.

电子产业

新加坡电子信息产业

产业背景

电子业的发展核心

随手拿起一台电子设备,不论是智能手机、平板电脑、视频遥控台或者汽车导航系统,这些产品都很有可能部分在新加坡制造或设计。电子业是新加坡制造业的支柱,占我国2013年国内产总值(GDP)5.3%。 经数十年的发展,新加坡电子业已从上世纪60年代东南亚唯一的电视组装厂发展至如今全球电子市场的重要枢纽。

电子业在全球产业中所扮演的角色瞬息万变。各种设备、机器和系统相互连接并智能化。启动它们的感知、储存和分享信息的功能,将是为广大用户、行业和社会团体开发新解决方案的关键。新加坡经济发展局的愿景是将新加坡打造成一个全球顶尖企业的亚洲家园,开发出高流动性、互动性和感知性社会需要的产品及服务。

亚洲需求迅速前进

随着电子业的重心往亚洲转移,新加坡电子业所立足的稳定基础,使我国成为许多电子企业选择开发及管理区域甚至全球新市场、产品、流程、科技和应用的首选之地。

世界领先的电子业中心

新加坡电子产业以创新为发展核心,为产业提供所需的科技、制造和商业解决方案,创造新的发展领域。如今,全球十分之一的晶片以及40% 的硬盘媒体都制造于新加坡。

新加坡经济的重要支柱

电子业是新加坡经济增长的主要行业,其在2013年占我国制造业年附加值的29%。新加坡经济发展局在2014年所获的118亿新元固定资产投资中,电子业占总额的14%。此外,电子业就业人口超过7万9000人,占制造业就业人口总数的18%。电子成品的生产也促进了相关产业(如:精密零部件制造、化学材料供应、电子制造系统、物流服务)的发展。

新加坡的电子产业优势

端到端的制造能力

新加坡是电子厂商开拓和管理新市场的理想之地。如今,我国在电子业已获得许多成就:

  • 十五家世界顶尖的无厂半导体公司中有九家在新加坡, 近30家集成电路设计中心
  • 十四间硅半导体晶圆代工厂,其中包括世界排名前三的晶圆代工厂
  • 十五间半导体组装与测试作业处,其中包括世界排名前五的半导体组装和测试代工公司
  • 六家世界顶尖的集成器件制造商
  • 三家世界顶尖的硬盘制造商
  • 五家世界顶尖的电子制造服务 ( EMS) 供应商中有4家在新加坡

从研发、制造、供应链管理、物流,到设立区域或全球的总部,新加坡都可以满足企业发展的各项业务需求。

了解更多有关资讯通信产品制造业信息,请点击此处

亲商环境

新加坡尊重知识产权,并具备诚信、高效及可靠性等有利条件。新加坡为企业提供国际人才。我国欢迎来自世界各地的优秀人才到新加坡生活、工作、学习和探访。如今,新加坡已成为高素质工程技术人才的基地,可以满足投资者的需要。我国电子业界也不断提升员工素质,确保足以应对未来需要。2013年,新加坡私营企业研发费用总额中的31%来自电子业。这种投资将会进一步完备并加强本地的生产和总部业务。

能力发展计划

人才是经济增长的重要驱动力,因此,我国政府制定了一套全面的能力发展计划来满足电子业的人才需求。2010年,经济发展局宣布与南洋理工大学合作设立VIRTUS卓越集成电路设计中心(Integrated Circuit Design Centre of Excellence of Singapore)。VIRTUS培训模拟与混合信号集成电路设计的研究生,并在低耗管理和能源采集等新兴领域开发关键性技术。此外,经济发展局也出资设立奖学金,资助晶圆制造和集成电路设计等领域的本科和研究生。

能力发展计划

在高科技行业,研发能力是一项重要考虑因素。新加坡在这一方面进行了大量的投资。与前一个五年相比,政府将2011-2015年度的研发预算提高了20%,目的在于将新加坡建成世界上高水平的研究密集型国家之一,而电子工业是达成这一目标的主要的促成因素之一。

新加坡成熟的电子研发能力涵盖了从器件级别设计与制造流程的研发到系统级别产品的设计、软件开发和工业设计。公立中心,如微电子学研究所(IME),以及大学研究中心,如VIRTUS卓越集成电路设计中心和新加坡南洋理工大学(NTU)的光电研究所,均致力于先进研究,不断地突破技术界限。

这种强大的研发文化鼓励世界各地公司在新加坡建立研究中心,开发新一代的组件和产品。

在这个流动性越来越高、联系越来越密切、有感知的世界里,呈现出了许多商机。解决方案有待迅速开发测试,以便正对这些不同终端市场。在新加坡,公共部门和私营业都正在设立平台,与来自不同行业聚集,共同开发网络社会的解决方案。

产业数据

  • 2013年,电子制造业总产值达791亿新元1,占我国制造业2013年总产值的28%,电子业就业人数达到7万9000人。
  • 在新加坡2014年118亿元的固定资产投资(FAI)中,电子业约占14 %。电子工业16亿新元的固定资产投资(FAI)预计将为新加坡的国内生产总值(GDP)贡献7亿新元的年附加增值。
  • 新加坡有14间硅集成电路晶圆工厂、15间组装与测试作业处、约30间集成电路设计中心,其中包括4间12英寸晶圆工厂、世界排名前三的晶圆代工公司、世界顶尖的外包封装测试公司中的5家,和世界排名前十五的无生产线集成电路设计公司中的9家。这些公司中有安华高、飞兆、美光、联发科技、联华电子(“UMC”)、联合封测(“UTAC”)、高通以及晶圆系统公司(“SSMC”)。如今,全世界集成电路芯片十分之一来自新加坡。
  • 新加坡是世界顶尖企业级硬盘驱动器制造国。希捷(Seagate)及日立环球存储科技 (Hitachi Global Storage technologies) 在新加坡拥有庞大投资。新加坡占也是主要的硬盘媒体生产地,占全球硬盘媒体约40%的市场份额。希捷(Seagate)、昭和电工(Showa Denko)、Hoya 等著名公司正逐步扩大其在本地的业务。
  • 世界排名前10的6家电子制造服务(EMS)公司已在新加坡开展业务,业务范围涵盖设计、高价值制造、供应链管理和区域管理,进驻本地的公司包括伟创力国际(Flextronics)、Sanmina公司、Celestica集团、Jabil Circuit及创业公司(Venture)等。著名的原件设计制造商(ODM)华硕(ASUSTek)、光宝集团 (Lite-On) 和纬创(Wistron),均在新加坡设立总部并开展研发活动。

了解更多如何在新加坡设立公司的信息,请点击此处

更多信息

联系新加坡经济发展局

彭明光先生

彭明光先生

司长
电子

联系我们 简介下载

相关案例

英飞凌科技

英飞凌科技 更多详情

视频

标签

电子产业