ENERGY INDUSTRY IN SINGAPORE

Energy industry Singapore

INDUSTRY BACKGROUND

POLE POSITION IN ASIA'S ENERGY MARKET

The oil industry has been an integral part of Singapore’s economy, ever since oil trading activities started in 1891. Over the years, oil has been the catalyst for which the refineries provide advantaged feedstock, therefore maintaining the competitiveness of the chemical industry.  Today, Singapore is the undisputed oil hub in Asia and is one of the world’s top three export refining centres.

Moving forward, Singapore is actively exploring opportunities in promoting sustainable growth for the energy industry. The focus has been to kick-start bio-diesel production and to develop next-generation technological capabilities in harnessing renewables. Leveraging its strengths in oil, Singapore is well positioned as the platform in Asia to capitalise on these emerging energy trends.  Its geographical advantage, coupled with other competitive advantages including a superior storage infrastructure and presence of first-rate financial institutions, are critical qualities that reinforce Singapore’s leading position in refinery, trading and logistics.

In November 2007, the Singapore Government launched the National Energy Policy Report. Titled “Energy for Growth”, the report outlined a holistic national energy policy framework that balances the four policy objectives of economic competitiveness, energy security, environmental sustainability, and industry development. 

GLOBAL ENERGY HUB THAT CREATES AND DELIVERS REFINING, TRADING AND LOGISTICS SOLUTIONS

Singapore is the region’s premier hub for oil & gas – a valuable sector that contributed almost 5% of Singapore’s gross domestic product in 2007.  As we continue to strengthen the competitiveness of the energy industry in Singapore, the government is looking to develop innovative logistics solutions to enhance the synergies of refining, trading, and logistics activities to meet global energy demand. 

The clean energy sector is also an increasingly important area for Singapore as the global market for clean energy technologies stands poised for high-octane growth in the next decade.  Singapore’s experience and capabilities in the semiconductor, industrial equipment and chemicals sectors place the country in good stead to capture opportunities in the solar, fuel cells and biofuels markets. 

GROWING REFINING CAPACITY

In moving the energy industry up the next level, Singapore seeks to increase its refining capacity from the current 1.3 million barrels per day. The expansion of existing refineries and optimisation of refinery operations will not only help to maintain Singapore’s share of global refining capacity but more importantly, put the country in good stead to enhance the growth of its oil trading activities by creating the critical volume of export-oriented refining throughput.

FUELING INNOVATION

Singapore is a strong base in the region for R&D. Within the energy sector, it is fast gaining leadership as an R&D base for alternative fuels and the next generation of biofuels. It is also channelling its R&D capabilities towards developing high-value products such as lubricants. In its efforts to extract more value from refineries, Singapore has achieved headway in key R&D areas such as process optimisation and catalyst development which maximise the use of existing refinery assets.

BUILDING ON SOLID INFRASTRUCTURE

Singapore offers extensive oil storage facilities on Jurong Island, its integrated energy and chemical hub, to facilitate trade and manufacturing activities. Our storage capacity is set to multiply with the advent of Jurong Rock Cavern, a massive underground facility. By 2010, it will offer 1.47 million cubic metres of space for the storage of crude oil, condensates and naphtha. Singapore is also embarking on its first receiving terminal for liquefied natural gas, in our drive to diversify our energy sources and leverage on the economic spin-off of this increasingly-traded energy resource. Such innovation in infrastructure solutions are crucial in ensuring that the energy industry continues to grow and remain competitive.

PROMOTING SUSTAINABILITY

To address climate change concerns, Singapore is raising the bar in energy efficiency and accelerating the development of new, sustainable feedstock and technologies for the industry.

MANPOWER EDGE

Singapore’s success as a leading global energy and chemical hub is, to a large extent, attributed to the quality of its people. As the industry constantly upgrades capabilities to operate state-of-the-art technologies, companies can tap on a highly-skilled workforce capable of managing high-end complex manufacturing and research projects.

GROWING SINGAPORE'S POWER MARKET

Through the liberalisation of the electricity retail market in Singapore, users have the flexibility to buy electricity from any retailer, and this creates a competitive playing field for the consumers. Furthermore, genco divestment among the power generation companies here has contributed to an increased presence of international players, therefore enhancing the competitiveness of Singapore’s power market.

FACTS AND FIGURES

  • The oil industry accounts for 5 per cent of Singapore’s gross domestic product.
  • Singapore is one of the world’s top three export refining centres, accounting for 68.1 million tonnes of oil exports in 2007 (BP Statistical Review of World Energy June 2008).
  • The oil industry is not a standalone industry. Refining has been the catalyst for the chemical industry, providing advantaged feedstock as well as other spin offs including oil & gas equipment and oil rig manufacturing sectors.
  • Singapore is Asia’s leading oil trading hub.
  • It is also Asia’s oil and oil product pricing centre.
  • It is the leading bulk liquids logistics hub in Asia and ranks amongst the top three in the world.
  • It is the world’s busiest marine bunkering centre, accounting for 31.5 million tons in 2007 (Maritime and Port Authority of Singapore).

 

CONTACT EDB

Mr Eugene LEONG

Mr Eugene LEONG

Director
Energy and Chemicals

Contact Us Download Factsheet

RELATED CASE STUDIES

Clariant

Clariant Read More

Mitsui Chemicals

Mitsui Chemicals Read More

VIDEOS

Jurong Island

Jurong Island View Video

WHAT IS A DECKBUILDER?

The Deckbuilder helps you compile the content you want. Click “Add to deck” to collect useful content from the website and click on “View Deckbuilder” to edit and export your deck as a .ppt or .pdf file.

能源业

energy

产业背景

在亚洲能源市场处于前锋地位

自从1891年石油贸易开始以来,石油工业已成为新加坡经济不可分割的一部分。多年来,炼油业已成为石油工业发展的催化剂,它为化工业发展提供必不可少的原料,从而使我国化工业保持竞争力。今天,新加坡已成为亚洲无可争议的石油业枢纽,也是世界三大出口炼油中心之一。

新加坡也积极探寻发展机会,实现能源工业的可持续性增长。重点将放在启动生物柴油生产和开发利用可再生能源的新技术方面。独特的地理优势、卓越的存储基础设施和一流金融机构,对于加强我国在炼油、贸易及物流方面的领先地位,起着至关重要的作用。

2007年11月,新加坡政府推出了题为"发展能源,促进成长" 的全国能源政策报告报告阐述了新加坡未来能源政策的基调,即在经济效益、能源保障、环境可持续性及产业发展四个政策性目标中求取平衡,确保能源供应稳定及充足。

创造及提供炼油、贸易及物流解决方案的全球能源枢纽

新加坡是亚洲重要的石油和天然气枢纽,石油天然气行业2007年产值几近新加坡国内生产总值的5%。我国持续加强能源业的竞争力,政府正在开发创新的物流方案,增强炼油、贸易和物流行业的协同配合,满足全球能源需求。 

全球洁净能源技术市场未来十年对高辛烷值燃料的需求将持续强劲,洁净能源也日渐成为我国的重要产业。新加坡在半导体、工业设备及化工产业方面的丰富经验和生产及技术基础,创造了开发太阳能、燃料电池及生物燃料市场的良机

增长炼油能力

为将能源业发展推上新台阶,新加坡致力于将现有的炼油能力提高到每天130万桶。扩大现有炼油厂的规模、优化炼油产业不仅有助于保持我国在全球炼油产业的地位,更重要的是,也有利于提升面向出口的炼油吞吐量,推动我国石油贸易的增长。

推动创新

新加坡是能源业在区域开展研发活动的理想之地。 这个产业正迅速成为替代燃料和新一代生物燃料的研发基地,并引导研发活动向润滑油等高价值产品发展。基于在精炼业发展中的不懈努力,新加坡在一些关键研发领域取得进展,如加工优化、及能够更充分利用现有炼油资产的催化剂研发。

坚实的基础设施建设

新加坡综合性能源化工中心——裕廊岛拥有大量石油储存设施,为能源贸易和生产提供了便利。到2010年,裕廊岛地下储油库(Jurong Rock Cavern)建成后,储油量将成倍增长,能够储存147万立方公尺的原油、凝析油和石脑油。新加坡也正在兴建第一个液化天然气接收站,使能源的来源多元化,也可带动相关经济效益的增长。这些创新的基础设施解决方案对确保能源工业的持续增长和竞争力至关重要。

促进可持续性发展

新加坡通过提高能源使用效率,加快发展新的可持续原料和技术,为解决气候变化问题做出努力。

人才优势

作为全球领先的能源和化工业枢纽,新加坡的成功在很大程度上得益于高素质的人力资本。不断提升换代的能源业急需最先进的技术,企业可利用本地的高技能人才来管理复杂的高端制造及研究项目。

持续增长的电力市场

电力零售市场的开放为消费者提供了公平的竞争环境,用户可以灵活地选择电力零售商购买电力资源。此外,本地电力公司对其下发电厂的出售使得进驻本地的国际业者增加,增强了我国电力市场的竞争力。

产业信息及数据

  • 石油工业占新加坡国民生产总值的5%。
  • 新加坡是世界三大炼油贸易中心之一,2007年的石油出口达6810万吨(世界能源统计年鉴,2008年6月)。
  • 石油工业不是一个独立的产业。炼油业已成为化工业发展的催化剂,它除提供化工业具优势的原料外,也带动了其他产业如石油和天然气设备、石油钻机制造等。
  • 新加坡是世界领先的亚洲石油贸易枢纽。
  • 新加坡也是亚洲石油及石油产品的价格中心。
  • 新加坡是亚洲领先的散装液体物流枢纽,世界排名前三位。
  • 这里是世界上最繁忙的船舶燃料供应中心,2007年供应船舶燃料达3150万吨(新加坡海事及港务管理局)。

联系新加坡经济发展局

陈志荣先生

陈志荣先生

执行司长
能源与化工

联系我们

相关案例

三井化学公司

三井化学公司 更多详情

新加坡科莱恩集团

新加坡科莱恩集团 更多详情

视频

裕廊岛

裕廊岛 观看视频