PRECISION ENGINEERING

precision-engineering

INDUSTRY BACKGROUND

BACKBONE OF MANUFACTURING

Precision engineering is the crucial enabler for industries as diverse as aerospace, oil & gas, medical devices and electronics. It is the essential ingredient in the manufacturing of the smallest semiconductor chips, to the most cutting-edge of medical devices, and the largest drill bits used in oil exploration.

Singapore’s precision engineering activities began in the 1970s to support the first manufacturing investments. Today, there are some 2,700 companies, ranging from small and medium enterprises (SMEs) to large multinational corporations (MNCs), in the precision engineering sector. Singapore also plays host to the headquarters and R&D functions of many of these companies.

GLOBAL CENTRE OF PRECISION ENGINEERING EXCELLENCE AND LEADING HUB FOR COMPLEX MANUFACTURING

A Partnership with Global Players
Singapore’s precision engineering sector comprises a range of companies from contract manufacturers to full solution providers, who offer design, prototyping, production and supply chain management capabilities. The precision engineering sector’s unique strengths are key reasons for Singapore’s global leadership position in areas such as aerospace, semiconductor equipment and oil & gas equipment.

Making the Connection
Precision Engineering is also flourishing in Singapore, as companies leverage on Singapore’s strong supplier base and vast connectivity to the region. And importantly, Singapore’s well-established research and development infrastructure allows companies to gain competitive advantages over their competitors.

MANUFACTURING - A KEY PILLAR OF SINGAPORE'S ECONOMY

Manufacturing is a key engine of the Singapore economy, accounting for some 20-25% of the GDP. Key industry clusters include electronics, chemicals, biomedical sciences, info-communications and media, logistics, and transport engineering.

As Singapore becomes an increasingly competitive location for manufacturing, fixed asset investment (FAI) in manufacturing has risen to new levels. Despite the global economic downturn, FAI remained at significant levels, emerging at the top end of 2009 forecasts at S$11.8 billion.

New areas of growth such as clean energy, environment and water, and natural resources, complement the established key clusters. Investment sources have also been expanded to new geographies such as Oceania, China and India.

ART OF COMPLEX MANUFACTURING

Precision engineering is a core enabler for many industries such as complex equipment, marine, aerospace, oil & gas, and medical devices. It is the skill that enables us to design and build complex components for sophisticated machinery; from the tiniest semiconductor chips to mechanical hearts; to sturdy drill bits for deep sea exploration to complicated aircraft engines. Singapore accounts for about 10% of global output for refrigeration compressors, 30% of global output for hearing aids, and about 70% of wire bonders used in the semiconductor industry. The island is the leading location in the region for the production of oil and gas equipment, as well as aerospace maintenance repair and overhaul.

Comprehensive Range of Capabilities
Singapore’s precision engineering industry has moved from being simple contract manufacturers to solution providers with strong design, prototyping, production and supply chain management capabilities. The Supplier Development Initiative (SDI) encourages supplier companies to enhance their capabilities and establish business linkages with larger companies.  It enables OEM manufacturers in the semiconductor equipment, aerospace, medical technology and electronics sectors to build business relationships with contract manufacturers and suppliers in Singapore. With some 2,700 companies in the precision engineering sector, Singapore therefore offers a wide spectrum of products and services.

Highly Skilled Manpower
Singapore has sufficient and quality manpower to meet the needs of businesses.  We are continually upgrading our manpower and plan ahead for anticipated demand. In October 2007, a $76 million precision engineering manpower initiative was launched to attract a new generation of talent to join the precision engineering industry, and to upgrade & deepen the capabilities of our precision engineering manpower base. As part of this initiative, the Centre for Digital and Precision Engineering (CDPE) was established to train PE professionals. The centre was officially opened at Nanyang Polytechnic (NYP) in January 2010.

FACTS AND FIGURES

  • Singapore’s precision engineering industry saw an output of S$18.3 billion (about 9 per cent of the total manufacturing output) in 2009. The industry’s value added was S$5.6 billion for that year.
  • The precision engineering industry employed 91,300 people in 2009, i.e. 22 per cent of the total manufacturing workforce. It is made up of some 2,700 companies, ranging from SMEs to large MNCs.
  • Singapore’s unique strengths in precision engineering are the key reasons for its global leadership. For example, Singapore accounts for more than 10 per cent of the global output for backend semiconductor equipment. In addition, the strong precision engineering capabilities in Singapore have attracted 9 of the top 10 wafer fabrication equipment companies to procure significantly from local based suppliers.
  • Singapore manufactures wafer inspection tools, which are engineered to identify nano-scale defects. This is comparable in magnitude to spotting a strand of white hair on the ground from about 2,000 feet above - or about four times the height of the Singapore Flyer.

CONTACT EDB

Mr CHANG Chin Nam

Mr CHANG Chin Nam

Executive Director
Precision Engineering and Spore Welcome Centre for Corporates (SWCC)

Contact Us Download Factsheet

VIDEOS

Precision Engineering

Precision Engineering View Video

WHAT IS A DECKBUILDER?

The Deckbuilder helps you compile the content you want. Click “Add to deck” to collect useful content from the website and click on “View Deckbuilder” to edit and export your deck as a .ppt or .pdf file.

精密工程产业

新加坡精密工程业

精密工程业在新加坡的发展前景

制造业的支柱

精密工程业(PE)是航空航天、石油与天然气、医疗设备和电子产品等多种产业的支柱产业。无论是在制造最小的半导体芯片、最尖端的医疗设备,甚至是最大的石油勘探钻头, 精密工程业都是支持各类制造业背后的关键产业。

新加坡精密工程业的发展始于上世纪70年代,以支持最初的制造业投资。目前,该行业已发展到拥有约2700家精密工程业公司,当中既有中小型企业(SME),也有大型跨国公司(MNC)。新加坡也成为许多公司的区域总部和研发中心。

全球精密工程业中心及综合制造业枢纽

与全球企业携手合作
新加坡的精密工程业涵盖了从承包制造商到全面解决方案供应商(例如具有设计、原型测试、生产和供应链管理能力)等各类公司。精密工程业所具备的独特优势使新加坡能在航空航天、半导体设备、石油与天然气设备等领域取得全球领先地位与种种成就的关键之一。

建立连接
在企业借助新加坡强大的供应商基础以及与区域良好连接能力的同时,精密工程业也取得蓬勃发展。更重要的是,新加坡完善的研发基础设施为这些公司提供了明显的竞争优势。

制造业——新加坡经济的重要支柱之一

制造业是新加坡经济发展的重要引擎之一,产值占国民生产总值(GDP)的20-25%。重点产业群组包括:电子业、化工业、生物医疗科学业、资讯通信和媒体、物流业和运输业。

正当新加坡制造业竞争日趋激烈之时,制造业固定资产投资(FAI)也上升到新的水平。虽然全球经济衰退,但固定资产投资仍维持在高水平,达到了2009年预测的最高数额——118亿元。

清洁能源、环境与水源、自然资源等新增长领域,补充了现有的关键产业群组。投资来源也扩展到大洋洲、中国和印度等地区。

新加坡的精密工程产业优势

综合制造业能力

精密工程业是很多行业——包括综合设备、航海、航空航天、石油与天然气及医疗设备等的核心推动产业。它是设计制造综合性机械与精密部件的关键技术, 从最小的人工机械心瓣中的半导体晶片、坚固的深海勘探钻头,到复杂的飞机引擎,无不借助于精密工程业。新加坡精密工程业已取得长足发展,例如持有制冷压缩 机的全球市场的10%,助听器市场的30%,及半导体引线焊接机市场的70%。新加坡也是亚洲领先的石油与天然气设备的生产基地,以及航空航天维护、修理 和大修基地。

全面的工程业能力
新加坡精密工 程业已从简单的承包制造商蜕变成为提供全面解决方案的供应商,并拥有强大的设计、原型测试、生产和供应链管理能力。而政府提供的供应商发展计划,旨在鼓励 供应商公司提高他们的业务能力并与大型公司建立业务联系,并促使半导体设备、航空、医疗技术和电子等领域的原始设备制造商与承包制造商、供应商建立业务关 系。因此,在拥有2700间精密工程业公司的基础上,新加坡能够提供广泛的产品和服务。

高熟练度的人力资源
新加坡有充 足与优质的精密工程人力资源以满足企业的业务需要。但我们仍在不断地提升自己,并在预期需求来临之前做足准备。2007年10月,精密工程人力资源获得 7600万元的项目投资,以发展新一代的精密工程技能,同时提升并深化现有的精密工程劳动团队的技能。作为此计划的一部分,新加坡更是设立了的数码和精密 工程中心,以培养精密工程专业人士。中心位于南洋理工学院内,在2010年1月正式开幕。

新加坡精密工程产业信息

  • 新加坡精密工程业2009年的产值达183亿元(约占制造业总产值的9%),该年度的行业年增值达56亿元。
  • 精密工程业在2009年的就业人数达91,300人,即制造业总就业人数的22%。该行业共有约2700间规模不等的公司,涵盖了中小型企业和大型跨国公司。
  • 新加坡精密工程业的独特优势,成就了其在全球的领先地位。我国已持有全球后端半导体设备10%的市场占有率。此外,新加坡精密工程业的强大技术也吸引了全球十大晶圆制造设备公司中的9间公司向本地供应商进行大型采购。
  • 新加坡制造的晶圆检测工具,可以鉴别小至纳米的缺陷。这好比在2,000英尺以上,或4倍于新加坡观景轮的高度,观测到地面上的一绺白发。

联系新加坡经济发展局

郑振南先生

郑振南先生

执行司长
精密工程

联系我们 简介下载

视频

精密工程

精密工程 观看视频