OUR ECONOMIC HISTORY

The emergence of Singapore as the heart of Asia’s economy has come with many challenges. From its days as a small and underdeveloped nation, Singapore has emerged from the tumultuous financial, social and political changes over the years to transform into the first-world metropolis that it is today.

THE SIXTIES

As a newly independent country in 1965 with no natural resources, Singapore as an infant nation faced much uncertainty. Unemployment was one of the key issues that needed to be resolved quickly in order to get the wheels of the Singapore economy moving.


Singapore's Economic History in 1960s

With a GNP per capita of less than US$320, Singapore was a third-world nation with poor infrastructure and limited capital. Low-end commerce was the mainstay of the economy and the handful of industries that existed produced only for domestic consumption, leaving no room for direct foreign investment.

To create job opportunities following the massive unemployment and labour unrest, an environment conducive to industrial development had to be formed, thus leading to the birth of the Jurong Industrial Estate – the first of many such estates on the island.

It was during this exciting period of growth that the Singapore Economic Development Board (EDB) was established with a budget of $100 million to take on the challenge of convincing foreign investors that the country was a good place for business.

These two developments marked the start of Singapore’s industrialisation programme that began with factories producing garments, textiles, toys, wood products and hair wigs. Along with these labour-intensive industries were capital and technology-intensive projects from companies such as Shell Eastern Petroleum and the National Iron and Steel Mills.

The success of this programme over time meant new issues had to be tackled, namely the lack of raw resources that once came from Malaysia and rapidly growing local demand. Singapore’s solution then was to develop its export-oriented industries, as EDB opened its first overseas centres in Hong Kong and New York to be better placed to woo foreign investors.

WHAT IS A DECKBUILDER?

The Deckbuilder helps you compile the content you want. Click “Add to deck” to collect useful content from the website and click on “View Deckbuilder” to edit and export your deck as a .ppt or .pdf file.

新加坡经济发展史

新加坡在成为当今亚洲经济中心的路上,经历了诸多挑战。 新加坡从一个落后的小国,在历经了多年的金融、社会和政治动荡后,才得以发展成如今的大都市。

六十年代

1965 年,作为缺乏自然资源的新兴独立国家,新加坡的未来面临众多不确定性。 要推动新加坡经济的发展,失业是当时亟待解决的关键问题之一。


六十年代

六十年代的新加坡是一个人均国民生产总值不到 320 美元的第三世界国家。当时新加坡的基础设施薄弱,资金缺乏,而且当时的经济以低端的商贸活动为主,仅有的少数工业生产也只足够供应国内消费,并鲜有、甚至完全没有外来的直接投资。

当时的失业以及工人动乱问题非常严峻。因此,营造工业发展环境以创造就业机会变得刻不容缓。新加坡在这个大环境下诞生了首个工业区 -- 裕廊工业区。

同时期,新加坡经济发展局 (EDB) 以1 亿元的预算正式成立,并肩负起吸引外来投资的重任。

这两个发展,标志着新加坡工业化计划的开始。当时的工业以服装、纺织品、玩具、木制品和假发等生产业为主。 随着这些劳动密集型产业的发展,一些国际企业如壳牌东方石油公司和大众钢铁厂等也开始陆续将其资本和技术密集型项目引进新加坡。

工业化的成功,也为新加坡带来了新的问题。新加坡脱离马来西亚独立后,失去了原本获取原材料的腹地,加上国内市场需求的强劲增长,导致原材料供应极其短缺。 对此,新加坡应对的解决方案是发展出口导向型的产业。经济发展局也相应地分别在香港和纽约设立了首批海外办事处,以更有效地吸引外来投资。